Sheebah, Kenzo, Keko, Fat Boy nominated for AFRIMMA Awards 2020


By Kampala Sun writer

The organisers of the prestigious African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA) have released nominees for the 2020 edition.

The awards, which are in their 7th edition in Dallas, Texas USA, will be held virtually on 15th November 2020

Seven Ugandans have been nominated in this year’s awards. They are Eddy Kenzo, Vinka, Sheebah, Keko, Sasha Vybz, Maksaka Kids and James Onen (Fat Boy) .

Kenzo has been nominated in the category of ‘Best Male East Africa’ alongside Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania, Harmonize – Tanzania, The Ben – Rwanda, Khaligraph Jones – Kenya, Gildo Kassa – Ethiopia, Mbosso – Tanzania, Rayvanny- Tanzania, Ali Kiba- Tanzania and Otile Brown – Kenya.

Sheebah Karungi and Vinka have been nominated in the category of ‘Best Female East Africa’ with Nadia Mukami – Kenya, Zuchu – Tanzania, Maua Sama – Tanzania, Rosa Ree- Tanzania, Akothee- Kenya, Nandy – Tanzania, Fena Gitu (FenaMenal) – Kenya and Tanasha Donna – Kenya.

Keko in the category of ‘Best Female Rap Act’ with Eno Barony – Ghana, Nadia Nakai – South Africa, Moonaya – Senegal, Rosa Ree – Tanzania, Bombshell Grenade – Zambia, Muthoni Drummer Queen – Kenya, Askia – Cameroon, Candy Bleakz – Nigeria and Rouge – South Africa.

James Onen (Fat Boy) is the surprise inclusion in this year’s Afrimma Awards (Photo: Courtesy)

Sasha Vybz was nominated in the ‘Best Video Director’ category with Justin Campos – South Africa, Dr Nkeng Stephens –Cameroon, Enos Olik – Kenya, TG Omori – Nigeria, David Duncan- Ghana, Director Kenny – Tanzania, Clarence Peters – Nigeria, Gyo Gyimah- Ghana and Patrick Elis – Nigeria

Masaka Kids Africana in the ‘Best African Dancer’ category alongside Poco Lee – Nigeria, Sherrie Silver – Rwanda, La Petite Zota – Ivory Coast, PapiOjo – Nigeria, Sayrah Chips (Nigeria), Bajuni – Tanzania, Rabbit Crew 255- Tanzania, Neru Americano &Scro Que cuia – Angola and Kora Obidi – Nigeria

Interestingly, James Onen has been nominated in the ‘Radio/TV Personnel Of The Year’ category with Ebuka – Nigeria, Yaw – Nigeria, Jamal Gaddafi – Kenya, Jessica Opare Saforo – Ghana, Konnie Toure – Ivory Coast, Afonso Quintas – Angola, Willy Tuva – Kenya, DJ Fresh – South Africa and Do2dtun – Nigeria.

The AFRIMMA Virtual Awards 2020 is set to be the first of its kind in the African music world with performances coming from different artists around the world and audience catching the performances, speeches and award presentations on multiple streaming devices.

Head to and vote now for our Ugandan artists while the continent prepares for an epic show in November that would solidify the fast growing African music genre


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here